Super Secure Make Webhooks

@ScottWorld’s article about Make webhooks triggered an inquisitiveness about securing webhooks in Make. You all know I’m not a fan of excessive dependencies on glue factories, so today, I set aside my religion to explore the science of defending your Make webhooks from potential calamity.

This document establishes a practical, secure Make webhook design pattern. I’m not a security expert by any stretch. Feel free to point out flaws or improvements because security is important and these glue factories increase the exposure. :wink:

Terminology:

• The system calling a webhook is the “webhook broadcaster” or “webhook caller”.
  • The system hosting the webhook is the “webhook listener” or “webhook receiver”.
  • A webhook transaction is also known as a “webhook event”.

General Automation Objective

• Airtable event (record change, button push, new item in view) triggers a call to a Make webhook in the context of a given Airtable record.
  • Make receives the call and performs the webhook scenario based on the Airtable record ID passed from Airtable.
  • The Make scenario authenticates with Airtable to retrieve the designated record details to effectuate the automation task.
  • Automation tasks include but are not limited to, modifying the Airtable record or sharing the record’s data with another third-party application.
  • Performing automation interchanges over HTTP using webooks as securely as possible.

Webhook Security

By default, Make webhooks are open and accessible by any application through an HTTPS endpoint defined by the Make webhook scenario.

Example: Make Webhook Scenario

Make webhooks are fundamentally unsecured. Through a variety of approaches, Make webhooks can be better guarded.

Standard approaches include: