Base design advice

Hello all

I need to do some spring cleaning on the rather large Airtable base I have been using for the past 18 months or so which tracks several things relating to a touring exhibition I am working on - and could do with some advice to make sure I get it right. The database has grown organically without much (any) planning so now is the time to put that right.

This may be a long post - apologies.

I use Airtable for several tasks relating to the exhibition. Such as -

Object tracking - keeps tabs on the various objects that are on display at the exhibition. Owner, value, maintenance instructions etc. I have a separate table for condition reports (a report is done each time the object is moved to a new museum) and a separate table for Crates so that we can track which crate each object is in. There is also a loan agreement for each object which are also stored in a separate table and linked to the object. The excellent On2AIr docs then creates Object Info PDFs, Condition report PDFs etc etc

Graphic list - a list of all the graphics within the exhibition. Which crate they are in, size, type, artwork resource etc etc

Schedule - this is my favourite base. Entries per day which is used to keep track of accommodation requirements, truck movements, crew logistics etc etc. Again - the superb On2Air docs then generates all the PDF paper work - trucking schedules, accommodation lists, master schedule etc.

So you can see why it has got rather unwieldy.

My questions are -