Scripting vs Automations & Improving Base Performance

I have become a very avid, self-taught Airtable builder over the last 1.5 years. I do not have coding experience so I rely almost exclusively on formulas and automations. I love figuring out ways to solve different challenges in Airtable and am pretty good at it. I know, however, that my “creative” solutions aren’t always the most efficient and may have implications on base performance or future development that I may not understand or appreciate.

I am now at the point, however, where I’m trying to learn more about how to develop solutions with efficiency, performance and scalability/flexibility in mind. With that in mind, I have two questions - one that is quite specific and one that is very broad. Feel free to respond with an answer to either!

1. I just developed a base for scheduling appointments [same base described below] that uses a Now() field in order to delay one set of automations in a series of automations. I know that Now() can be a drag on performance, and I only need it for newly created records.

If I created an IF statement along the lines of IF {Created Time} is before Today(), then “”. Else Now(), will that reduce the drag on performance?

1. This fairly complex base runs solely on internal (Airtable) automations. I know there is at least one set of automations that could have been done in a more streamlined fashion using a script, but I’m wondering what the actual practical effects of this are. I imagine, in general, these are two major drawbacks on using “inefficient automations”:
  1. Slow, possibly poor, performance when the automations are being run;
  2. Running out of automations (given the limit per base)

Neither of these seem to be practical issues for this base because, one, I run the primary automations in question weekly at 5am on Saturday, and two, this base is dedicated to just to scheduling and I have plenty of remaining automations.