Button to add a child record

Hi

I want a base to hold steps in a product roadmap (Topics) and allow for sub-topics below them to be created that reference the parent

Effectively a row is identified by TopicID, I want a button that runs a script that creates another row and places the TopicID of the current row into ParentID of the new row.

Really it’s for simple data entry (I know I could use Make, etc. but rather keep it inside AT if possible). I find the idea of using a Link to the table really clunky for fast entry

I’m new to AT scripting (but have reasonable scripting and programming background) but am getting nowhere to try and find the info to achieve this

Thanks for any ideas
Mike

1 Like

Do you want a button field in a data view? If so, you will need to use Scripting Extension.

Do you want a button element in an interface? If so, you could have the button run automation. The automation could then create the new record, either using no-code actions, or with a script.

If you are okay with triggering the automation with a checkbox field or single-select field, you could use a no-code automation in a data view.

If you want to learn more about Airtable scripting, have you looked over the scripting documentation?

Hi Kuovone

I want to use a scripting extension and have got that far. My question is around the actual script involved. I’ve looked through documentation and struggling to see how to get a value from the current row and create a bew row using it

Mike

1 Like

What does your script currently look like?
Have you looked at the example scripts to see how they work?

Yes and can’t find anything as I’ve already mentioned

Welcome to the community, @mball213!

Is there a reason you want to use a button + the scripting extension?

I don’t know scripting, but I ask because as @Kuovonne mentioned above, this can be done natively in Airtable’s automations without using scripting at all.